Preparing For My Final Year

This weekend, I’m moving back to university for my third and final year – scary stuff! Where did the past two years go?! They have literally flown by.

University is a very exciting experience. At least, that’s what most students would say. For me, on the other hand, although it is exciting at times, it is quite a stressful, anxiety-driven experience. Luckily my degree is 100% coursework based so I have no exams to take. However, this also means that I have a crap tonne of essays to write! For me, essays = stress, and stress = anxiety, and anxiety = breakdowns.

As a person who suffers from anxiety disorder, university isn’t exactly the easiest thing to deal with. In fact, it is extremely difficult if you do not have the right support. I’m very lucky to have had my best friend and housemate in first and second year right by my side through all of the hard times, as well as my boyfriend. If I didn’t have them, I genuinely think I would have dropped out.

So, as you must be able to tell by now, university hasn’t exactly been quite the experience I’d originally hoped. On results day, that horrifically terrifying day, when I found out I’d gotten into university, I was over the moon. I couldn’t quite believe that I’d passed my A-Levels and that I was ACTUALLY going to university.

The first term of university was exactly what I expected: lots of drinking, lots of partying, and lots of running out of money! It was so fun and I would do anything to go back. My second term of university is where everything changed for me. I started to get extremely stressed about all of my work that I kind of got caught up in this blackhole of anxiety. This blackhole has somehow managed to continue through the rest of my first year and all throughout my second year…

You must be thinking, ‘If university is so stressful for you, why the hell are you going back?!’ Don’t you worry, I ask myself that same question everyday! In all seriousness though, although I’ve found university really difficult, I wouldn’t change it for the world. I’ve met so many amazing people, and I’ve made friends that I’ll keep for life.

IMG_4046

The beautiful view of Canterbury from my campus.

As the weeks have gone by, and the date I’m going back to university draws nearer and nearer, my anxiety has been getting worse. But, you now what, I’m ready for it. Even though I’m super nervous about it, I’m also really excited! It’s my final year – it only goes downhill after that! This is my last year to be as free as I can before I enter the real adult world of work and mortgages and other horrible adult stuff.

It’s going to be a tremendously tricky few months, but I’m going to get through it – just like I have for the past two years! So final year, I’m ready for you!

If your university experience has been similar to mine and you’re really struggling, just hang in there! You can do it! There is plenty of help at the university, you just need to find it and go for it. And don’t forget that you have your friends and family to support you!

Good luck if you’re going back to uni or even starting your first year! Have a blast!!

Hannah x

Leave a comment