2018: A Fresh Start

Hey everyone! And welcome 2018!

Happy New Year to you all! And I hope you had a lovely Christmas.

I don’t know about you, but I am SO thrilled that it is finally 2018. I’m not usually one for change but I couldn’t wait for 2017 to end so that I could start afresh with a new year. 2017 was such a challenge for me, and turned out to be one of the worst years of my life. However, it was also one of the best years of my life at the same time! I achieved so much that I never thought I would and I became friends with so many lovely people. I challenged myself to a lot and I came out the other side much stronger and, quite frankly, I’m so so proud of myself.

I know what you’re thinking and no, this isn’t going to be one of those stereotypical ‘New Year, New Me’ posts (at least, I hope it doesn’t turn into one). Instead, I’m going to share with you my aspirations for the new year and what I would like to have achieved. I know that some of these ideas are going to be almost impossible for me, but I’m going to at least try and attempt them!

I’m going to become a vegetarian and, maybe, eventually become vegan. I’m a 20 year old girl who has been a meat-eater her entire life, so you would think this change in diet would be really difficult for me. However, I’ve already started and it’s going SO well! I haven’t eaten a bit of meat for over 3 weeks now and I haven’t craved it in the slightest. I’m planning on staying vegetarian for a while until I think I’m ready to become vegan, as I’m a student and some of the required food I’d eat would be really expensive. I’m already half way there as I don’t drink cow’s milk and I very rarely eat cheese. I’ve been watching so many YouTube videos and documentaries on veganism and I feel so drawn to it. My two favourite YouTubers that I watch religiously are Sarah Lemkus and Ellen Fisher. They inspire me so much and I hope one day I may be able to ditch the butter and cheese!

I’m going to continue with my dancing, even after I graduate from uni. One thing I’ve noticed about my mood is that it gets better after I’ve done some exercise or danced. I started dancing again in September and it was really difficult for me at first, but I just can’t wait to get back into it after the Christmas holidays! I’ve been home alone for the past two weeks and I’ve just been pirouetting all around the house! Even though I’m not the best at it, I still love doing it. I want to continue doing it even after I graduate so that I can meet more people who love to dance like I do! Plus, it cheers me up and keeps me going – it gives me something to look forward to.

I’m going to *try* and get a first. Now, this one is one of the almost impossible ones that I briefly touched upon earlier and this all depends on my essay mark that I’ll get back on Monday. If I get a first in that essay, I think it’s very possible that I could achieve a first overall in my degree. That’s not to say that I won’t be happy with a 2.1, I would be over the moon! But I feel like deep down I know that I can put in the effort and work my butt off to get this grade, and I would just prove my anxiety wrong that I CAN do it if I put my mind to it!

Continue to practise my anxiety techniques to become stronger. I finish therapy in early February, so after that I’m all on my own with my anxiety. I have no professional to give me advice when I have a bad week or to tell me that I’m doing really well and I have no set homework that I have to do each week. I’m completely out there in the real world with just myself to depend on – but I know I can do it! I’m going to face new challenges as and when they come and try not to say no. I’m going to believe in myself that I can do anything if I just let myself try. My anxiety won’t be the boss of me anymore, the ‘real’ Hannah (as my therapist likes to call it) will finally take charge of my life!

I’m going to travel by myself more. This one is a really big one for me, but I did it last year so I know that I can do it again. Last year, I made the scariest trip of my entire life to Guernsey to visit my dad and step-mum. I had the choice to take a 3-hour cruise there or a 25 minute flight – so I think it’s pretty obvious which one I chose to do! (I picked the flight). I am absolutely TERRIFIED of flying – I hate the whole experience: getting to the airport, going through security, waiting around in the airport, queuing to get on the plane, waiting for take off, actual take off, etc. I think you get it – I HATE it! But, you know what, I did it. I flew all the way to Guernsey and back all by myself and I was perfectly fine. Yes, I was on the verge of breakdown on the plane, but yes, I got through it fine. The flight to Guernsey was the shortest flight of my life, so now I want to challenge myself to get a slightly longer flight. My best friend is doing the second half of her year abroad in Pavia, so I’m hoping to book a little trip to visit her sometime this year! Wish me luck!

All five of these aspirations may not be achievable, but they’re worth thinking about. Even if I come back in a year’s time and tell you that I’m now a meat-eater and I didn’t even get on one plane or I don’t dance anymore or I ended up getting a 2.1, it’s still nice to say at least I gave it a go and the idea was there! The only thing that is stopping me from achieving any of these goals is myself.

So what about you? Do you have any goals and aspirations for 2018 or any New Years resolutions? Are you vegan and have any dishes that you recommend I try? Let me know!!

I hope you have had a great start to the new year and continue to have the best year ever!

Thanks for reading,

Hannah x

Leave a comment